Well, as most folks know, with pregnancy comes mood swings and irritability, especially the later in the pregnancy you get. Today was one of those suck days.
I'll premise this post with the fact that I've not been getting much sleep and the sleep I do get is fitful, so I've been exhausted. Pair that with the 100+ degree temps (not including heat index) and a couple teens that can't get along at all, and a toddler that has been fussy, you get one zombie mom.
Yesterday was a great day...not.
Up at 5am with the baby who woke up with a snotty nose, perhaps due to teething. Wrangled everyone around and was out the door at 7:45am. This is 2 hours earlier than I'm used to even getting up these days. Drove to the health department to be the 5th in line for my 8am appointment, which was my glucose test...which means I haven't eaten since 10pm the night before. 8am straight up, FIRE DRILL! Yeah. Who's bright idea was it to have a fire drill on Thursday at the Health Department...the prenatal clinic day??? Picture the parking lot full of nurses, admins and tons of hugely pregnant women...in the 85 degree heat at that early in the day. I'm surprised nobody got killed. Seriously.
Back to the clinic finally. I'm finally called back, weighed in (6 pounds gained in the last month...yuck!), blood pressure checked (normal surprisingly), pee in a cup (surprised that I could do that considering how long it's been since I had anything to drink) and sit in the waiting room. Called back to the lab for blood draws, the tech pokes, draws 2 tubes, bandages me up, realizes she drew the wrong tube. *sigh* Ok, try again on the other side, with the correct tube. Back to the waiting room to find out they were supposed to give me the orange soda flavored sugar. *double sigh* Back to the lab to drink the fake Fanta with the tech telling me "It's a good thing I drew that other tube of blood or we'd have to poke again!" *triple sigh*.
Finally off to the exam room, doc asks how I'm feeling. "Tired." "Oh that's normal." No, really? What constitutes an abnormal amount of exhaustion? I think I'll ask that next time. At least the baby's hearbeat sounds good and I'm measuring ok. Sonogram scheduled finally. WOOHOO!
DING! My first hour of waiting is over, back to the lab thinking I'll get a simple finger stick like my Hubby does when he tests his blood sugar. NOPE! Full blood draw, in the first vein I got stuck in which is tender, not to mention the raw spot forming on the inside of my elbow from the tape. Back to the waiting room for another hour wait. Finally over, back to the lab again, for yet another full blood draw...but no tape this time because my elbow is friggin' bleeding. *sigh again* What a day.
I finally get back home and raid my fridge for the 2 pieces of leftover pizza since it's been well over 12 hours since this poor pregnant lady had any food. But the damage is done, I'm pissy the rest of the day...and hot. Took a 4 hour nap, woke up just as tired as when I went to bed, went to bed early.
Which brings us to today. I wake up just as tired this morning as I was last night. Got my grocery list put together, posted a few things on the blog for y'all, and headed to the store. Spent more than I planned at Aldi, had loads of issues using my WIC vouchers at HyVee. Got a call from Hubby about a car sale he got...well got half of...the deal he sold last week that got cancelled Monday, the dude came back today and another salesman helped so Hubby got half the deal. I call BS! The other salesman didn't do squat to sell the car, Joe had it sold last Friday. Of course that's not how it works, but it still pissed me off...so I'm in tears. Why? Who knows.
Hubby then asked if I could bring him some of my wonderful cooking for lunch. I smart off, he asks for drive thru instead. Ok. Take him some food, he rubs my baby bump and asks what's wrong. "I don't know *sob*" Really, I'm melting from the heat, frustrated at the grocery store, pissy about his car sale, exhausted beyond belief, and only 2 hours until I have to be at work. Hubby is such a sweetheart, tells me to call into work and to give my 2 weeks notice because it's getting to the point I can't handle it all.
Decision made. I will be talking to my boss next week, informing her that I need to go on leave soon, but before hand, I need to take my vacation time. 120 hours of vacation built up, no way I'm just gonna not take it. So by the end of August, I will officially be on maternity leave. In the mean time does anyone have any suggestions on how to beat the mood swings? I have the option of getting some Prozac from the doc (she offered it this time) but not sure if that's the way I wanna go. What do you all think?
The adventures of the Salesman's Family of 7 (soon to be!). A little blog about how to be a salesman's family frugally and responsibly...and all the wackiness that comes with it!
2 comments:
-
Thanks Sam my dear. I've been leaning towards that option, especially since it seems I'm having break downs nearly every day. I remember being preggo with Faith and having some of the same issues (I'm due on her bday), so I'm wondering if it has to do with the heat. Even so, it certainly isn't healthy for me, the baby or anyone else in the house, so I think I will tell doc next time to go ahead and prescribe it. :)
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Blog Top Sites
Total Pageviews
Categories
Budgeting
(20)
Community Service
(4)
Cooking
(11)
DIY
(5)
Educational
(1)
Family
(10)
Freebies
(35)
Mailbox Madness
(4)
Menu Plan
(10)
Organization
(1)
Parenting
(3)
Payday Shuffle
(10)
Photos
(2)
Potty Training
(1)
Pregnancy
(4)
Saturday Sizzles
(2)
Save Money
(20)
Sewing
(2)
Toddler
(4)
Popular Posts
-
This shelf can be used for anything, not just school/office supplies. Use your imagination and make what fits your lifestyle! Thanks Mon...
-
From T.Rowe Price , a great activity book (downloadable) to help teach your kids about financial responsibility!
-
I've neglected you. I know. I'm so very sorry. Please don't stay mad at me. I promise to pay more attention to you from here on...
-
So a couple weeks ago, I posted that Hubby had lost his job. I'm sure you're wondering how we're coping with that. It's been...
-
Pregnancy Number 4. Am I nuts? Yeah, probably. 26 weeks today, big belly, lots of pressure EVERYWHERE, unable to eat much food at a time, ...
-
Free Glade tropical Summer Gift Pack for first 3,000 people. HURRY!
-
This is late I know. I was super busy yesterday! This check we had due: Rent (the rest of June since we haven't paid it yet) Electri...
-
The Girls Son #1 The Hubby The kids and I. Normally, I'd freak about the belly...but since that's the baby bump...
-
We've had to take a long hard look at our finances lately. Car sales hasn't been all that great this year and I'm only 8 short w...
-
Love this list ! My favorite ... Porn for New Moms: From the Cambridge Women’s Pornography Cooperative. I think I might have to put that on...
Blog Archive
My Blog List
-
-
-
-
💰Free eBook: Bet Me ($4.99 value)💰2 weeks ago
-
-
My Melancholy World9 years ago
-
Powered by Blogger.
It's six of one and half a dozen of the other... Prozac is a category c drug, which means that "In studies of pregnant animals, Prozac showed potential health risks to the fetus. However, Prozac can still be given to a pregnant woman if her healthcare provider believes that the benefits outweigh any possible risks. If you become pregnant while taking this medication, let your healthcare provider know so he or she can discuss the benefits and risks of the drug with you."
But then, being really moody and depressed can affect the baby too.... My friend was on it when she was preggo and her baby was perfect. :)
Also, since you are passed your first trimester, you should be golden. :) Try it. Give it a month, and go from there. :)